Day 60-62: Singapore

Well I had less than 3 days to discover Singapore. Even though I had gone to Chinatown on my very first day,  I had to throw on my roller skates and see as much of this city as I could. But I was starting to feel very tired for the whole time so I just took it easy.

Flight to Singapore:
This flight I made the last minute as I needed to confirm details with my guide. And the good thing was that the price was the same a few months back as to when I booked!

Anyhow, I had quite a boozy and emotional night with Patrick and Michele that ended at approximately 1.00am. I had to be up at 4.30am for a 9.30am flight. I was so tired and probably still intoxicated during the whole process. And to make matters worse,  I had to catch a train from the airport to my hotel. But when I got to my accommodation,  I was blissfully happy that it was so beautiful and a fitting ending to my journey.

What I liked:

Amoy Hotel:
OMG! Stunning Boutique hotel!  It actually backs onto Singapore ‘s oldest Temple.  And I made sure that I got the room with my surname!

My hair cut@ Hounds of Baskerville :
Since I have been on this journey,  my hair had grown,  and I needed a new do. I went to a cool barbershop: the Hounds of Barker vile along Bali Street. This barbershop is way cool,  with Singaporean guys with tatts and that hipster retro vibe doing the do’s.

Anyhow, I got a cool guy to do it and am so pleased!

Local Living:
Stephen and Rickie,  my cousin DJ’s cousin met me and we went to non touristy spot such as a local outdoor food Cafe that served delicious noodles and satays ,  a look at the red light districts including a drive through the brothel area… very interesting take on Singapore.

What I didn’t like:

Every thing was closed!
Well not really.  Since I was staying in the business district,  all shops were closed the day I arrived. The next  day,  Monday, I went to Haji Lane to find that all stores were closed.  On the same day, I went to Gardens by the Bay to find their Cloud Forest closed for maintenance! Man,  I can’t take a break Finally,  on my last day I wanted an Espresso Martin for lunch to celebrate my achievement.  I was advised that No. 5 Emerald Hill along Orchard Road was a cool place to go. So I made it there as planned to find it was closed for the day. What is it with me and Singapore????

Gardens by the Bay skywalk/  light show:
I brought a ticket at approximately 630pm to do the sky walk when the sun was setting.  After finding out that it was a 30 minutes delay, I queued up like every one else.  While waiting,  the staff put up a 50 people restriction on the skywalke with a 15 minute viewing. Well,  it was my luck that I made it on the sky walk but with no sun set…. the sun was setting during the next group!!!
The light show was rather lame.
Would I come back?
I would only come back in transit.

Leave a comment